Review: Chicco KeyFit 30 Infant Car Seat

Are you on the hunt for a new car seat? There are many brands and models on the market, each with features that differentiates itself from the rest. After going through car seats with our first two children, my husband and I realized that what is more important than the number of features a product has is how well they fit our needs. The Chicco KeyFit 30 is working well with us so far, which is why I would like to share our experience with you.

There has been a buzz about this model lately, and I am fortunate to try it out for myself. Needless to say, we were pretty happy with it. Continue below for details on how I came to this conclusion, as well as personal photos of our Chicco KeyFit 30.

Our Experience:
The Chicco KeyFit 30 came fully assembled in the box, so before reading up on the full instructions, I examined it on my own. I played around with the straps and latches to get a feel of it, and I was pretty impressed. The car seat is more compact than the previous models/brand we used with our first two children, and it was pretty simple to install as well.

It is designed for babies from 4lbs-30lbs, which means it also accommodates premature infants. A preemie friendly car seat is perfect, as the nature of our pregnancy and delivery dates are not fully predictable, and this feature could easily become a necessity for just about any family. The hospital had called us in early because baby girl looked small on her ultrasound. She ended up being over 7lbs, but having a small newborn could happen to anyone.

Pros:
•Can be paired with many Chicco strollers for convenient transport from car to street with child
•Newborn insert supports a 4lbs+ baby. This feature makes it preemie friendly.
•One-pull tightening and loosening harness. This feature has to be one of my favourites, as I know first-hand how difficult it can be to adjust a car seat. Canadian weather is hardly stable, so baby’s outfits may change in bulkiness at the top of a hat. The last thing we need as parents is to own a car seat that requires special skills to adjust.
•Unisex styles. This makes the Chicco KeyFit 30 ideal for purchase long before baby arrives, and even as a baby shower gift long before you know the gender.
•The seat clicks into the base and pops out as easily. When you have more than one child (three in our case), you will appreciate a car seat that assembles without hassle.
•Covers are machine washable. While I am sure that we all ADORE cleaning up after our kids, the fact that we can toss some of these parts in a washing machine means less stress.

Cons:
•I try to include both pros and cons for every product that I review, but there was nothing about the Keyfit 30 that I did not enjoy. It’s compact, light, and easy to use.

Order Your Chicco KeyFit:
Here: Babies “R” Us Canada

Chicco Online:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChiccoCanada/

***I received a Chicco KeyFit 30 for review purposes. I have not been compensated for this review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under 6+ Months, 7+ Months, 8+ Months, Blog, On the go, Product Reviews

Leave a Reply

