Review: Oogaa Mealtime Sets

The more I read about using plastic dishes for mealtimes, is the more I am turned off by them. Plastic dishes can easily leak harmful chemicals into our food, and our childrens’ food. Plastic can eventually harbour bacteria and can stain over time. I could go deeper into the subject, but let me just summarize by saying that silicone is safe for babies, which is what drew me to Oogaa mealtime sets in the first place.

My Experience
Oogaa had me at “Hello”. The packaging is eye catching, and the information on it is clear and informative. Kudos to their graphics designer!

The kids loved the feel of the material, the vibrant colours, and the fun spoons the most. What I loved the most was the material (no plastic), and how easy they are to clean! I did use them in the dishwasher, but the fact that food seemed to glide right off encouraged me to wash them by hand more often than not. Speaking of encouragement, these dishes are oven safe. I don’t practice baking often, but I have since given it a try just to test out the dishes in high heat and find out the results. T’was good!

Pros:
•Dishwasher, freezer, microwave and oven safe. Shatter resistant
•Non toxic, BPA free, PVC free
•You can bake with them, or make large ice pops with the divided plates
•No open pores that could harbour bacteria
•Does not scratch or fade
•Soft for baby’s gums
•Train and plane spoons make for a fun mealtime with sound effects and hand motions!
Oogaa also sells teethers, placemats and onesies for your babes. I have a mat and I love it!

Cons
Oogaa needs forks! I know the target market is early weaners, but the size of the bowls are perfect for toddlers, and we’ll be using these in our home for years to come. I am excited to see what new products the brand will come out with as they continue to grow.

Notes/Tips on the Product
•Try making ice pops with the divided plates. The little characters are imprinted on the back, and they’re fun to make!
•I recommend ordering the placemat, as it’s a great addition to your collection, and prevents potential (big) messes.

Oogaa Online
Website: http://www.oogaa.com/
Instagram: https://instagram.com/oogaababy/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/oogaahome
Canadian Distributor: http://shop.2blueducks.com/collections/oogaa

*****Oogaa was kind enough to send us an Oogaa mealtime set to try out. I have not been financially compensated for writing this review. All opinions are my own.

4 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews

4 responses to “Review: Oogaa Mealtime Sets

  1. I like your review style, Alyssa. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Turkey Time |

  3. Pingback: Kiwi Snackin’ |

Leave a Reply

