Review: ChooMee Sip’n Soft Tops

Purees play a major role in our weaning adventures, and now that the boys have grown, smoothies are an equally important part of our diet. I love getting a quick fix of blended fruits, vegetables and seeds into our diet on a regular basis. Since the kids are often on the go with their outdoor activities, reusable pouches are our go-to for portable snacking (in liquid form).

You may be wondering where ChooMee fits in this picture, and it is my pleasure to share those details with you. While feeding pouches are an excellent way to promote self feeding, and great for making food portable, ChooMee solves a small issue that many of us didn’t know we had with feeding pouches. Don’t get me wrong, as this review is NOT intended to speak negatively about pouches, but rather to inform you that if you’re looking for an accessory that provides a useful add-on feature, you have found it in ChooMee.

Product Description:
These universal silicone Sip’n soft tops provide flow control to create a mess-free pouch experience. Try out their pack of two tops, or their travel cases which come with two tops inside.

My Experience:
The first person I tested these spouts on was myself. I whipped up a quick smoothie with ingredients we had on hand, filled up a pouch, attached the spout and went for it. Saying that I was impressed would be an understatement. The first feature that had me hooked was the fact that its made of silicone. In the last few weeks, I have been trying to purposely choose silicone, stainless steel or glass over plastic when possible, and knowing that these spouts were made of silicone put me at ease where bacteria is concerned.

The second thing I noticed was the suction power of the spout. I did have to work for my smoothie, the same way an infant would have to go through sucking motions to retrieve drink from a breast or bottle. Once I got the hang of it, things were great. Our youngest calls the spouts pacifiers, but I think of them as baby bottle or leak proof sippy cup tops. Simply tilting the pouches is not enough to get the contents out, as you need to suck to retrieve the them. Lately, I do not bother closing the lid when filling the pouches from the other end because it does not leak through the spouts. Mind you, that is NOT a recommendation, but rather a real life example of me having faith in something that works (and actually be right!).

Pros:
•Made of Silicone, which doesn’t support the growth of bacteria. Also, because they’re chewy, they are easy on little gums and teeth.
•Spout is compatible with most feeding pouches (both disposable, store bought, and reusable DIY).
•The travel pack comes with a case, making it easier to store them in an organized fashion.
•I like (and was surprised by) the fact that the travel cases do not follow stereotypical gender colors.
•They are reusable, dishwasher and freezer safe. I wash them by hand normally, but I run them on the top rack of the dishwasher at the end of the week for a good cleaning.

Cons:
•Small products are easy to misplace…especially if your purse is a bottomless pit like my own! You might want to stock up so that you always have some on hand.

Notes/Tips on The Product:
•DO NOT use a metal cleaning brush on the spouts, as they could rip the material.
•I recomment making use of the travel pack, even if you won’t be using them outside the home. It’s a great holding case and makes them easier to store neatly.

ChooMee Online:
Facebook: /Choomeeinc
Twitter: /Choomeeinc
Instagram: /choomeeinc
Website: choomee.com

*****ChooMee was kind enough to send samples to try out. I have not been financially compensated for writing this review. All opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Product Reviews

One response to “Review: ChooMee Sip’n Soft Tops

  1. Pingback: Grapefruit, Apple & Kiwi Puree (or Smoothie) |

Leave a Reply

