Review: Simple Baby Food DIY Pouches

Feeding pouches are all the rage right now. I have to admit that I appeared to have been hiding under a rock for the last few months, because they seemed to have popped out of nowhere. Recognized brands such as Ella’s Kitchen, Heinz and more are known for making baby food in feeding pouches. They sell well, and with good reason; they’re convenient, easy to toss into a bag, and simple to dispose of. The few negative parts to purchasing feeding pouches is the environmental waste issue, the cost (it really adds up), and the fact that food which can remain on shelves for days or weeks without being refrigerated may be questionable (organic or not).

I prefer to make the boys’ food myself, which is why I was excited to hear about these pouches from Simple Baby Foods. I can enjoy the convenience of pouches, and keep my feeling of security by knowing what’s in them.

Product Description:
Simple Baby Foods pouches are reusable feeding pouches designed to hold homemade baby food and/or snacks. These pouches are reusable, freezable, BPA free, PVC-free and phthalate free. So you can rest assured that your little ones are safe to eat their food from them time and time again. The brand markets them to babies in the early stages of weaning, but don’t let that fool you, as they’re the perfect size for a toddler snack as well. Alongside pureed food, I have also made a number of smoothies that make trips to the park or long car rides a breeze.

My Experience:
I have to say that I was most impressed with the packaging. As you can see from the first photo in this post, the starter pack includes loads of goodies for your weaning adventures. Before getting started with the actual pouches, I read through the pamphlets which gave me details on the brand itself, its history, and details on the product and other services that Simple Baby Foods offers.

Pros:
•The pouches are great for babies AND toddlers. At the time this article is being written, we have a one and three year old. Both use the pouches, and will continue to even when they begin school. It’s a great way to get an extra boost of vegetable/fruits in their tummies throughout their busy days.
•The pouches are transparent. This allows little ones to see what they’re consuming. Sometimes I ask them what color they’d like to have, and base the ingredients off their selection.
•The fact that they’re reusable means you won’t be throwing away a pouch at every single feeding like you would with store bought pouches.

Cons:
•Initially, I couldn’t quite figure out how to use the holding racks. There is now a video on their website with clear instructions. My life just got easier!

Notes/Tips on the Product
•Although they are dishwasher safe, they last a lot longer if you wash by hand. I use the bottle cleaner that came with the starter pack.
•The Simple Baby Foods cooler isn’t marketed as leak proof, but I did spill a bottle in it once and I was very pleased that it didn’t leak. My purse was saved thanks to the inner lining.
•Avoid any overflowing by filling the pouches up to just before the ‘contents’ line. Perfect fill up every time!

Simple Baby Foods Online:
Website www.Simplebabyfoods.com
Instagram @simplebabyfoods
Twitter @simplebabyfoods

*****Simple Baby Foods was kind enough to send us a starter kid to try out. I have not been financially compensated for writing this review. All opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Product Reviews

One response to “Review: Simple Baby Food DIY Pouches

  1. Pingback: Grapefruit, Apple & Kiwi Puree (or Smoothie) |

Leave a Reply

