Easy Potato Soup – No Dairy/Meat

While reading this recipe, please keep in mind that I’m not a professional cook! This recipe is completely made up by myself, and tastes so good, that I don’t care what the professionals have to offer in terms of techniques and ingredients!

I did end up browsing creamy potato soups after writing up details on mine, and was dissapointed to see that most included cow’s breast milk, cream of some sort, oil or butter. What I like about this one for the kids is that there’s NOTHING unhealthy in it. That means you can make it, adjust it to suit your taste, and feed loads of it to your children or self (or guests) with no guilt at all. I’ve used it as a gravy for rice and meat for the kids, and I have served it as a soup for our infant. So here we go!

Ingredients (not limited to):
2 Potatoes (Makes about 2-3 servings)
1/4 green bell pepper
1/4 red bell pepper
1/2 onion (I used red)
1/2 grated large carrot
Sea salt (optional)
Spices to taste (I added all purpose spice)
Rosemary (optional)
Clove of garlic
Table spoon of black pepper

Instructions:
Wash, peel and cut both potatoes
Slice them up into little chunks and bring to boil in a pot
Slice up & add all ingredients & spices into a blender
Blend for 10-15 seconds, depending on how chunky you want the soup to be
You can add more water here to thin the consistency if needed
Add the ingredients back into the pot
Keep the stove on the lowest setting for another 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally

Notes:
Now, because our infant and toddler are old enough to handle chunky food, I only blended HALF the potatoes. The other half I left as whole boiled pieces that remained in the soup. Also, I didn’t blend the carrots. Instead, I grated them and added to the pot of blended mixture for the final boil on the stove.

You can add flavours to taste, as well as other vegetables you may enjoy. I was working with what we had in the fridge, but the sky’s the limit, especially if you want to get your family to enjoy vegetables often.

I have seen so many recipes that include fatty ingredients like dairy, butter and more, and those just wouldn’t do for the boys. So try this out and let me know what you all think!

xoxo

Leave a comment

Filed under 8+ Months, Dairy Free, Finger Food, Toddler Friendly, Vegan Friendly, Vegetarian Friendly

Leave a Reply

